Basic Info

Official name: Republic of Malta

Capital city: Valletta

Official languages: English & Maltese

European Union: Member since May 2004 (also part of Schengen Area)

Currency: Euro

Time: 1 hour ahead of GMT (2 hours ahead in summer)

Religion: Roman Catholic 98%

Electricity: The electrical supply is 230 volts, 50 hertz. The three-pin rectangular plug system is used, as in Britain.

Driving: On the left (same as the UK)

Location: In the Mediterranean. Malta lies 93 km (58 miles) South of Sicily (Italy) and 300 km (186 miles) North from the North African coast.


Emergency number: 112

Public Hospitals: Mater Dei Hospital, Birkirkara Bypass, Birkirkara

Gozo General Hospital, Rabat, Gozo


Public Holidays (most shops and businesses are closed on the following days):

1 January – New Year’s Day
10 February – St Paul’s Shipwreck
19 March – The Feast of St Joseph
31 March – Freedom Day
March/April – Good Friday
1 May – Labour Day
7 June – Sette Giugno
29 June – St Peter and St Paul (L-Imnarja)
15 August – The Assumption of Our Lady (Santa Marija)
8 September – Our Lady of Victories
21 September – Independence Day
8 December – Immaculate Conception
13 December – Republic Day
25 December – Christmas Day